LFS Introduces… Nicola Hulks & Stars in Unexpected Places

Today I’m very excited to introduce you to one of my most lovely of friends – Nicola Hulks!

So the reason Laura Anne has asked me to come along is to talk about my new short story collection, Stars in Unexpected Places. This was released a couple of weeks ago now and is being sold in aid of the aid and development charity Tearfund in Paperback and E-book format. The stories in the collection are really just about people’s lives, little snapshots that tell bigger tales. Some are old stories, familiar stories from the bible but rewritten from a different perspective. Some are about romance, holding hands in the rain. Some are about freedom, quitting a job you can’t stand and battling with yourself when you think better of it. Some are funny. Some are sad. A bit like life really! And that’s the thing with short stories and is the reason why I wrote them and why I write anything at all. They can capture so much in so few words. Through simple things that life is made up of, a picture, a conversation, they say something bigger than just the moment told.

I started writing more seriously when I went to Zambia with Tearfund to visit some of the partners working on the ground for the organisation. Partners are local people who see a need in their community and work tirelessly to see it met. This means that money raised by Tearfund goes direct to the people who need it most and is administered by people who live in the community and know it best. It was in Zambia that I realised how much meaning can be in those little moments. I travelled around Zambia meeting people who had benefited from the support of the charity and the things that I saw really stayed with me. One day we were driving through a desperately poor area, our tyres bouncing in and out of the potholes, when I saw a sign sprayed in thick black paint on the wall of a market stall saying ‘God Knows’. This spoke more to me than hours of conversations about economics and the route out of poverty because yes, he does know and I think it quite breaks his heart.

Some of my experiences in Zambia feature in Stars in Unexpected Places and these stories are ultimately about hope because that’s how I left, feeling hopeful. And I feel hopeful now, that this little collection of stories might do a bit more of the wonderful work I saw started. You can have a read of some sample stories on my website and I’m currently doing a blog tour of the book, telling the stories behind the stories and giving a sneak peak of what you can expect from it. I hope you like it.

Nicola

For those of you who have not yet had the pleasure of being in Nicola’s company, you are indeed missing out – but you can catch Nicola over on her website www.nicolahulks.co.uk and on twitter @nicolahulks.

2 Responses to “LFS Introduces… Nicola Hulks & Stars in Unexpected Places”


  1. 1 franbrady December 13, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    Hello Nicola
    I am a friend of Laurie’s and I also aspire to be a writer. I have ordered a copy of ‘Stars’ in paperback (I like to curl up with a ‘real’ book still) and wll let you know how I enjoy it.

    I have also just brought out a wee collection of short stories for charity fund-raising purposes, called ‘Tales to Dip Into'(£5, available only from me at present: franbbrady@aol.co.uk) And I have one published novel on Amazon: ‘The Ball Game’. My website is http://www.franbrady.com.

    I am a member of a writing group in Edinburgh and love writing fiction.

    Lots of luck with the book. Looking forward to reading it.

    Fran Brady

  2. 2 Lisa-Jo @thegypsymama December 17, 2010 at 2:32 am

    Being from South Africa myself, I know how what we see and experience of God’s work in the most desperate of situations can be the most amazing inspiration for stories. Thank you for telling yours and in so doing, thank you for sharing the stories of people who are so often left voiceless.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Welcome to LFS Introducing...! We hope that you find a story here that will encourage you to pursue the dreams you've been given, or inspire you to do something you've never done before. Perhaps you'll meet people that will become your mentors or friends. Maybe you'll learn something new. Whatever it is, we'd love to hear about it, so do share with us in the comments section.

If you'd like to share your story and be 'LFS Introduced' you can find out how to do that by clicking on the image below.

About LFS Introducing…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Archives

Follow @LFSIntro on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Thanks for stopping by!

  • 3,695 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

